HeroQuest: Abomination Mystic

I already made “Boss Cards” for the official spellcaster Abomination (HERE) that is encountered in the Kellar’s Keep expansion pack, as well as my own homebrew tweaked versions with different spells and stats. I remarked that I liked the idea of the homebrew versions so much that I might make a full color Monster Card for it. Well, I did!

I like the idea of making Abominations culturally more than just “blarg, fish monsters!”, especially given their role in replacing the intelligent Fimir from the original HeroQuest releases. Adding a new type of Abomination that can cast spells accomplishes this, IMO. It makes it clear that despite their terrifying appearance, they are intelligent beings with a culture and language of their own.

Abomination Mystics also allow quest builders to make more “Abomination themed” maps, since they now have another type of monster for this race to utilize, as well as another “common monster” spellcaster option alongside the likes of the Magus Guard.

Feel free to use the icon below to add these new monsters to your homebrew quest maps, but use them sparingly, as their wide array of spells can make them quite formidable foes.

As always, if you do make a quest using these monsters, please credit me… but more importantly let me know so I can see them in action in your awesome quest!

Monster Cards

Icons

Leave a comment